Exercise 16: Exploring Function

This section of People and Place focuses on Space and Function….. “this is not about architectural photography. Instead, it is about structures as an extension of human activity and as being ‘usable'”.

I’ve taken a  it of a break from the course exercises themselves to focus on more reading and background to help me with understand photography and art in general, and as usual, it has taken me a while to get my head back to what I was doing previously. 

I understand the idea behind this part of the course. I have to show some evidence of human activity, but actually putting it into practice is harder than I thought. 

Naturally, the best way to do this is to work througth the exercises and try to find some inspiration as I go along.

This exercise should help teach a way of approaching space and thinking about it that focuses on how it was intended to be used and whether or not its design was succesful. 

During the course of the exercise, I have to consider it from the point of view of its function:

  • Who uses it?
  • What is it intended to be used for?
  • How many different aspects are there to that activity?

My first idea was to use the public library near here, and so I went down there to ask if photography was allowed. I’d expected that the answer would be “No”, but thought that if I asked, I would be be granted permission to photograph the library at a time when there were no people in there, i.e. before opening. The member of staff I asked said that would be fine, and told me to come back at 9am on Sunday. Later that day, I received a phonecall from the library denying this permission unless I submitted a written report to the local council summarizing what I would be using the photographs for. They also asked for demonstration images, and to see my study blog. If this had been for an assignment, I would probably have gone along with it, but seeing as it wasn’t, I decided to focus elsewhere. I thought it was all a bit over the top, and know from past experience that even if I had submitted the written request to the council, I more than likely wouldn’t have heard anything back for about 6 months. 

So, last Sunday, when I took my daughter to a pottery class in the children’s centre craft room, I asked if I could shoot the image there. They agreed, but only if I shot from a certain, rather out of the way corner. I decided to make the best of what I had, as I could see this exercise dragging on for even longer and I’m anxious to get on with the course, so I said that would be fine. 

Before taking the photograph, I considered the space and what it should be doing. These were the points I came up with:

  • it needed to be bright 
  • it needed to be open space 
  • the desks needed to be arranged in such a way that the teacher, parents and children could easily move around unobstructed. 

As I had to shoot the image at the end of the class, by that time it was getting pretty crowded in there. Added to this was the fact that I wouldn’t have chosen to take the shot from the position where I was told to. I would have taken it from the open door way and therefore gotten most of the room in the frame in a more attractive fashion, but I dealt with what I had.

 

I wasn’t really sure how to take this photograph, as if I’d taken it from a child’s eye level, any view of the rest of the room would have been blocked by the desks in front of me.

Anyway, reading the the course handbook, and thinking about the above questions posed during this exercise should help me with the assignment.

5 comments

  1. I agree Brian, not easiest of tasks, but I think that even though you say you’re not pleased with the angle you had to shoot from no one else knows there was a better view, so the image does what it needs to do, in my opinion it’s better for the fact it shows some spacial use dysfunction, and you’ve fulfilled a part of the brief unexpectedly, the entire space doesn’t work as well as it should. Job done and well done.

    1. Thanks Eddy,
      I think that there were several positions in the room that would have worked better than where I was, but at least it gives a sense of what the room is used for. I think it would be easy to tell, if there were no children in the room, for example, what kind of room it is and what it’s used for. I think that goes part of the way to fulfilling what I was supposed to do.
      Barry

  2. This is what I found so difficult at first Barry. I remember I wanted to photograph inside a converted building, now used as offices. I emailed explaining everything (it was in a secure development and no way to get in) and a young man did actually reply and I phoned him but he was so unsure of it all; how long would it take, would ‘t want disruption etc. I sent him all the info but never heard back. It did sap my confidence especially as I was feeling unconfident at the time anyway.

    Would I do it differently now? I hope so having gained more experience.

    Re the library. That child’s eye view is so important in encouraging children to read and enjoy the library. Did you feel able to give any feedback? At lead the room looks colourful.

    1. Thanks Catherine,
      Like I say, were this for an assignment I’d likely gone through all the paperwork, but for the exercises I think it would have just stalled for a while.
      I can see why that would take away your confidence, but how would you do it differently now?
      I didn’t really feel confident enough to give any feedback, as I understand that the staff had used the space so as to get the maximum number of desks and chairs in, while still leaving enough space for moving around, but I would possibly have included a matted area for smaller brothers and sisters to play in the corner while the bigger kids make things at the desks.
      This is from first hand experience, as while my daughter was painting her pottery, my son was bored and getting restless. Most of the toys etc in the room are for bigger children. There were a few other parents in the same boat, so perhaps that may be something for the staff to think about.
      There is a big matted area outside, but you can’t really leave a 3 year old boy alone in another room where there are stairs and lifts etc to play by himself while you supervise his elder sister in a separate room.

      1. Re what would I do differently now – I’d certainly be bolder now and ask if I could come along and show them some photographs I’ve already done (at least I have some now!). I would also offer them prints of anything I did. My husband did that when he photographed a private library in Nottingham and they asked if they could use them for some promotional material.

        Maybe you and the other parents could form a gentle pressure group to ask the library to provide a small area for younger children to play – or even to provide some activity for them.

Leave a comment

ESJ

A great WordPress.com site

Steve McCurry Curated

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element.

Being Margaret

Life, Insights and Observations Through Writing and Art

Darkroomstory

Photography by Manos,

my world

A journey in photography

Digital Photographic Practice

My OCA Learning Log by Julie Harding

Shannon A. Thompson

Author. Speaker. Librarian.

Lerpy's Photography Log

OCA Level 1 - People and Place

PAP

OCA - People and place

DPP

OCA - Digital Photographic Practice

photo-graph

musings on the photographic experiences of keith greenough

Dave Bartlett DPP

Photography BA (Hons) : Open College of the Arts

Lerpy's Photography Log

OCA Level 1 - The Art of Photography

photoparley

discussing photographic art

TAOP

OCA - The Art Of Photography

catherinefinniganphotography

'The camera always points both ways. In expressing the subject, you also express yourself.' Freeman Patterson (photographer)

dougslr

This is my Learning Log for The Art of Photography (TAOP)